University Senate: It is the supreme decision making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations. Incumbent Honorable Prime Minister is the ex-officio chairperson of the Senate. Honorable Minister of Education chairs the Senate Meeting in the absence of Premier, and Vice Chancellor chairs it in the absence of Minister of Education. Senate is composed of the representatives from Buddhist activist, industrialists, farmers, social workers, academicians, donors, Ministry of Education, University Grants Commission, Higher Secondary School,  representative of other universities. The Vice Chancellor, the Deans, four Campus Chiefs and three university teachers nominated by the Chancellor are also the members of the Senate. The Registrar is the member secretary of the Senate.

University Senate Consists of following Members:


S. No. NamePortfolioRemarks
1Mr. K.P. Sharma OliChancellorRt. Hon’ble Prime Minister
2Mr. Giriraj Mani PokhrelPro-ChancellorHon’ble Minister of Education, Science and Technology
3Prof Dr. Hridaya Ratna BajracharyaMemberVice-Chancellor, Lumbini Buddhist University
4Dr. Usha JhaMemberMember, National Planning Commission
5Prof. Dr. Dharmakanta BaskotaMemberVice-Chancellor, Tribhuvan University
6Prof. Dr. Ramkantha Makaju ShresthaMemberVice-Chancellor, Kathmandu University
7Prof. Dr. Bhim Prasad SubediMemberChairperson, University Grants Commission
8Mr. Gopi ManaliMemberSecretary, Ministry of Education
9Mr. Sishir Kumar DhunganaMemberSecretary, Ministry of Finance
10Mr. Kedar Bahadur AdhikariMemberSecretary, Misistry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
11Mr. Toya Narayan GyawaliMemberSecretary, Province 5
12Ven. Bhikkshu MeteiyaaMemberVice-president, Lumbini Development Trust
13Dr. Manik Ratna ShakyaMemberDean, Faculty of Buddhist Studies
14Prof. Dr. Ved Prasad GiriMemberDean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciencs
15Mr. Ukesh Raj BhujuMemberDean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciencs
16Mr. Fanindra Kumar NeupaneMemberCampus Chief, Central College, L. B. U.
17Dr. Ramesh DhungelMemberCamups Chief, Himalayan College
18Mr. Nir Bahadur GurungMemberVice-campus Chief, Central College L. B. U
19Mr. Indra Prasad KafleMember 
20Mr. Ekraj B. K.MemberChairman, District Coordination Committee
21Mrs. Sarala MokhtanMemberFemale Representative, Province 1
22Prof. Dr. Chandra Kumar LaxambaMemberMale Representative, Province 1
23Mrs. Sofiya Acharya RimalMemberFemale Representative, Province 2
24Kamali Maya WaiwaMemberMale Representative, Province 2
25Ven. Ani Choing DolmaMemberFemale Representative, Bagmati Pradesh
26Mr. Suraj VaidhyaMemberMale Representative, Bagmati Pradesh
27Dr. Chandrakala BhadraMemberFemale Representative, Gandaki Pradesh
28Mr. Kapil LamaMemberMale Representative, Gandaki Pradesh
29Mrs. Sarita BhushalMemberFemale Representative, Lumbini Pradesh
30Mr. Kamaleshwar Puri GoshwamiMemberMale Representative, Lumbini Pradesh
31Mrs. Mohan Maya DhakalMemberFemale Representative, Karnali Pradesh
32Mr. Jeevan Kumar ShakyaMemberMale Representative, Karnali Pradesh
33Dr. Janaki Kumari TuladharMemberFemale Representative, Far-western Pradesh
34Prof. Dr. Jayaraj AwasthiMemberMale Representative, Far-western Pradesh
35Mrs. Sujita ShakyaMember 
36Sridhar Rana RimpocheMemberRepresentative form National And International Buddhist Institution
37Ven. Bhikkshu Maitri MahasthavirMember 
38Mr. Shir Lama GurungMember 
39Ven. Dhammawati GurumaMember 
40Prof. Dr. Dilli Devi ShakyaMember 
41Mrs. Nita VajracharyaMember 
42Mr. Gambhir GurungMemberDonor
43Mr. Padhma JyotiMemberDonor
44Prof. Ramlal ShresthaMember 
45Dr. Tilak Ram AcharyaMembers-SecretaryRegistrar, Lumbini Buddhist University


Academic Council: Chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Academic Council is an academic body of the university. The Council is comprised of the heads of the major academic bodies, such as the Registrar, Deans of different faculties, Chairmen of various subject committees, educationists, Controller of Examinations, Chief of Curriculum Development Center, experts and teachers appointed by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Vice Chancellor. The Council formulates policies and practices on curricula, teaching, examination, and academic programs of the university.


1Prof. Dr Hridaya Ratna BajracharyaChairmanVice-Chancellor, Lumbini Buddhist University
2Dr. Tilak Ram AcharyaMemberRegistrar, Lumbini Buddhist University
3Mr. Sideshswor Man ShresthaMemberExamination Controller
4Dr. Manik Ratna ShakyaMemberDean

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Executive Council: Chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, the Council executes decisions taken by the University Senate. It is composed of seven members—the Vice-Chancellor, one person from among Deans, one person from among the Campus Chiefs who are members of the Senate, three persons from among members of the Senate including one teacher and the Registrar. The Registrar is the ex-officio member secretary of the Council


1Prof. Dr Hridaya Ratna BajracharyaChairmanVice-Chancellor, Lumbini Buddhist University
2Dr. Manik Ratna ShakyaMemberDean
3Fanindra Kumar NeupaneMemberOne Campus Chief among Senate Members
4Dr. Kabindra BajracharyaMemberRepresentative from Buddhist Art, Culture and literature Experties
5Dr. Sharada Poudel
Indra Prasad Kafle
MembersTwo Lecturers ( At least one women member)
6Dr. Tilak Ram AcharyaMember-SecrateryRegistrar, Lumbini Buddhist University

The Recruitment Committee is responsible for determining the selection of teaching staff as well as non-teaching staff based on the examination of the qualification of each candidate presented for nomination. In consultation with the Executive Council and the recruitment, the committee recommends the candidates for approval, appoints, and recommends the rank to be assigned to new teachers and staff and authorizes their promotion and further advancement based on their academic and work experience and evaluation records.

RegistrarChairmanDr. Tilak Ram Acharya
A representative among the Buddhist Religion, Philosophy, Culture and
archaeology inside or outside the University
MemberProf. Dr. Gitu Giri
Dr. Manik Ratna Shakya
error: Sorry, the content is protected !!